Relationships – Whanaungatanga, Resilience – Manawaroa, Respect – Manaakitanga, Responsibility – Tiaki

A community of agile and collaborative learners – Proud of who we are, empowered to make a difference

Kia Ora, Nǐ hǎo, Hallo, Greetings, 

Welcome to all our new students and their families who have recently joined us:  Angela Yang, Aria Rajendran, Bhavik Kohli, Blake Amoore, Brandon Li, Bruno Hussey, Caitlin Deyzel, Chloe Lu, Christopher Wallace, Crystal Gu, Dylan Baty, Elly Pechorin, Heinrich Schoeman, Isla McCarthy, Jayden He, Keira Butler, Kerem Dogan, Laksh Kohli, Leah Deysel, Lia Bin, Lucas Wang, Luke Gabriel, Mike Qin, Morgan Horner, Owen Qiu, Rayne Teo, Ryan Qiu, Senudi Dheerasinghe Arachchige, Shani Rajendran, Shaun Su, Shiloh Rautenbach, Tyler Horner, Vincent Lu, Yixi Pan, Isabella Ellary, Harry James, Gurditt Singh and Anoop Kaur.

Students have settled well into their new classes.  If you have any questions or feedback, please contact your child’s teacher in the first instance.  We are always happy to listen and like to work with our community for the benefit of the students. 

Although this is not quite the week three we were hoping for, looking at the weather forecast for the next couple of days in Ngaruawahia, perhaps it is a blessing in disguise that camp has been cancelled.  Fingers crossed we can rebook later in the year if there are any spare weeks to book.  Nick Chamberlain will be in touch with parents of year six when we have a plan B.


A reminder that our meet the teacher is scheduled for Monday the 22 of February.  This is an opportunity to hear about class routines and expectations in each year group as well as an opportunity to ask questions.  These will be held in your child’s classroom, or online if we are in lockdown.  Juniors will be at 5:30pm, middles at 6:00pm (with the exception of room 16 who are meeting on Tuesday at 5:30pm) and seniors at 6:30pm.  Thank you also to those parents who have filled out the Getting to Know You form online.  It provides us with useful information, so please take the time to fill it out if you haven’t done so already.

Students need to have a named blue bucket hat with them at school every day for term one.  A reminder that caps were phased out, as they do not provide adequate protection from the sun.  Students without a bucket hat will need to play under the rotunda.

Mihi whakatau (Formal Speech of Welcome)

We formally welcomed our new staff and students with a mihi whakatau last Tuesday.  This Maori welcome starts with a karanga (a call to welcome new people into the hall), followed by a welcome speech in te reo by myself, then we sang a waiata (song).  Then Sue Uden from the office responded on behalf of the new people and we sang another waiata.  The students did a great job supporting the morning with excellent singing.  A special congratulations to the girls who did the karanga (calling).  

         Gong xi fa cai! (Happy Chinese New Year)

On Friday the school embraced Chinese New Year.   We started with an assembly, where some students taught us about how the Chinese New Year was celebrated, followed by a parade of younger students in traditional dress.  Then classes followed the assembly up with a range of activities.



Staff Organisation for 2021

Kelly Slater-Brown – Principal

Carole Crompton – Deputy Principal (SENCO – Special Educational Needs Co-ordinator, Pastoral Care, Behaviour)

Moira Rowlands – Associate Principal (Curriculum Lead, Behaviour)

Junior Team

Sarah Bartholomew – Junior Team Leader, CRT release teacher

Liz Keel                Room 6   Year 2

Anna Madgwick Room 7   Year 1

Shari Knox          Room 8    Year 2

Annie Whitman Room 10    Year 1

Delwyn Jackson Room 11.   Year 1

Middle Team

Debbie Rist         Room 12   Year 4  Middle Team Leader

Philip Duncan    Room 13   Year 4

Jacinta Howie    Room 14   Year 4

Anushka Patel    Room 15   Year 3

Marlene Jackson Room 16   Year 3

Samantha Millar Room 17   Year 3

Senior Team

Jillian Redpath  Room 1    Year 5  Senior Team Leader, Maths specialist teacher / Cecelia Ehrhart 

Lorna McIntosh Room 2    Year 5/6

Faye Chilvers      Room 3    Year 5

Robyn Millinchip Room 4    Year 5

Nick Chamberlain Room 18   Year 6

Kris Jochimsen    Room 19    Year 6

Support Teachers

Diana Spencer            ELL

Rebecca Trotter         CRT release middle team – Sport/Dance/Drama/Music

Tamsyn Chan            Dance/Drama/Music specialist

Learning Support

Donna Gormley

Connie Cheng

JJ Snider

Bianca Savage

Camille Daniels-Sanileva

Caroline Fausett

Robyn Jones

Jamie O’Donoghue

Office Staff

Sue Uden – Office Manager

Vanessa Hunt – School Secretary

Property Manager

John Rist

Nga mihi nui,



Community Notices  


Are you interested in Kung Fu lessons after school? Please contact Steve directly if you are interested. See flyer attached.